Monday, October 11, 2010

La Luna de Miel

That means Honeymoon!

The entire time that we were engaged, I tried keeping the honeymoon a secret from Kim. It didn't work out. She found out where we were going. The week after we were married, we spent an amazing week on a cruise to the Mexican Riviera. People ask "How was it?" Here's how it was:

  • Food

  • Sun

  • Mexico

  • Food

  • Sun

  • Crazy rain

  • Beach

  • Food

  • Parties

  • Mexico

  • Food

Did I mention food? I gained 10 lbs in a week! And that wasn't water weight either, it's sticking to me!

K, so let me back up and start from the beginning.

The night of the wedding, we stayed at the Hyatt in Hunting Beach. There was an amazing view of the gardens that they had there. It was awesome with little paths that you could walk through and bushes that were up to my waist. There was a huge koi pond right below us with a bridge that you could walk over it and feed the fish. We only stayed there Saturday night and then took off.



We left in the morning to the L.A. port about 30 minutes from the hotel. We met Kim's mom and our friends, Curtis and Anna, there. We gave the keys to Curtis and Anna, who took our car, got our presents and drove our car home so that we wouldn't have to park the car in the lot and pay an arm and a leg to leave it there for a week. Somehow we got on the boat amazingly fast. Everyone was waiting in line for a few hours, but we were able to get on in less than an hour. So fast and I have no idea how! I thought that there would be a lot of issues left over from the swine flu, but the only thing even close to that was hand sanitizer dispensers that they had throughout the ship, especially when you got on and off.

Getting onto the Ship
Boarding the ship!

room was awesome. It wasn't huge, but we had a balcony lined up so that we had a view of the ocean. We had it open a lot to let the air in until our neighbors started smoking. The room attendants always left our towels folded in animals. One day it was a dog and another it was a monkey hanging from the ceiling. So funny how they did some of the stuff.



After leaving L.A., our first stop was Cabo San Lucas. Two words to describe Cabo: HOT and EXPENSIVE! Not very cool for the very first stop on the cruise. We spent the day snorkeling though, for a super cheap bargain. We got a boat tour first, where we were able to see Medano, Lovers and Divorcee beaches. The thing about Cabo that I didn't know is that it's considered the southern most point of Baja Mexico, so that is what separates the Pacific Ocean from the Sea of Cortez. All that means is HUGE WAVES! My brother Paul has a video of people skimboarding in Cabo. Soon as we saw that beach, I knew that's where they filmed it. The waves broke right on the shore and they did it so hard that you felt the ground shake. Insane!



after the tour is when we went snorkeling. I thought that they were going to bring a tour guide with us, but they just gave us the equipment and left us on the beach. There were lots of other people there and the waves were still crazy, so we put on our goggles and waded out. Once we were out just a little ways, the water was crystal clear. There was a point where the land drops 500 feet in an underwater cliff. The top of the cliff was this rock that stuck out of the water by about 45 feet or so. There were tons of different types of fish. They were so used to people that you could get right up next to them. I spent my time trying to catch them, but never got one. Once we were done, we went back to the beach. The company that we got the tour from was supposed to pick us up on the beach at a certain time. They didn't show up for an hour! My back got super red burnt! Not cool! But now my back isn't a sick, pasty white! :-)

our next stop was in Mazatlan. This was the shopping capitol of the trip, I'm sure. We spent some time in a "Shell Museum" that had a lot of different sea shells. Turns out, they weren't on exhibit, but for sale. Haha! Funniest "museum" I've ever been to. We spent the rest of the time shopping, buying souvenirs. I ate some tacos at a taqueria. I was pretty scared I would get sick, so I didn't have any of the sauce or any of the horchata because both have water in them.






In Perto Vallarta, we caught the beginning of Hurricane Frank, so it was SUPER windy and SUPER rainy. We were bummed because we both wanted to go to a huge zip-line that they have there, but there was lightning dancing all around, especially in the hills. Right across from the port, though, they had a WallMart. We went in there and just looked around for a little bit. It was raining so hard that the roof was leaking. It reminded me of Argentina because it had a chapa (corrugated metal) roof and I could hardly hear anything.



The honeymoon was amazing. If anyone is thinking about going on a cruise, I would highly recommend it! The service was awesome, food was amazing every night (they didn't look at me funny when I ordered two main courses and two desserts every night) and there was always plenty of things to do. We even got to see an ice skating show on board the ship! They had movie screenings, dances and parties, comedians, dance shows and places to get food 24 hours a day! (Can you tell I love the food part??)








If you want to see all the pictures of the honeymoon, check  out Kim's album...

Sunday, October 10, 2010

The happiest Day of our lives!


Wow so it seems like it has been forever seen we last posted on the blog! Things have finally settled a bit after the craziness of planning a wedding. That last week flew by, we left Tuesday before the wedding to finish prepping for the last final touches! I don't think we slept much those last few days.  I had to wake up super early the day of the wedding if I remember correctly it was around 4:30am to do hair/make-up, and then we headed over to the Temple. Jon was so stoked to see his Grandpa outside the Temple, he didn't know that he was coming down for the wedding. We were the first ones to get Sealed that day, there were a total of 12 couples for the day so it was nice that we had some alone time in the Celestial Room right before the Sealing. ;) We took a ton of pictures and that pretty much took the rest of the day until the reception, we were lucky to have Jarvie as our photographer and he suggested a beach to go take pictures at, it was beautiful after stopping at Corona Del Mar where it was super beyond packed with people. We then headed over to the reception and got there literally a few minutes before it was supposed to start. The reception was a flash, it went by way too fast! But everything was so beautifully decorated and everything was ready to go. We had such a great time! Thanks to Everyone who made this great day possible! I feel so blessed for all the wonderful people who helped with the cake (sister Miller), Flowers (Flory), Amazing pictures (Scott Jarvie), Working off hours for pictures (Alysson, Chareine, Maygan), Bridesmaid dresses (Elizabeth), Hosting the reception (my lovely Aunt Mirna).  May & Kam (hosting guests and kam's special salad) Special Huge thanks to my parents for providing for such a wonderful reception! I love you guys!  Thanks to all of our friends and families who traveled long distances to share our day with us including Oregon, Utah, Vegas, and Guatemala! Especial thanks to our Heavenly Father for giving me Jon as an Eternal companion! I love you Jonny and I'm excited to spend eternity with you!

































You can click HERE to see all of the wedding pictures!

Friday, July 16, 2010

Engagements

So I don't know if it was Jon's idea or our Photographer's idea (Scott Jarvie) to take pictures along the I-15 highway from Provo to California along different very random stops... (since we were going down for the 4th of July weekend)  What kind of girl would agree to take random pictures at very random stops like Baker in front of the world's tallest thermometer, or right in front of some trailer homes?  Or just the fact that we would just pull over to the side of the road and be ready to look all pretty for pictures when you are stuck in the car for hours, with no big mirror, no changing room, with little sleep (we started our roadtrip at 1:30am...and having literally a few minutes before Jarvie would pull to the side of the road and say ok we are shooting here! Only someone slightly crazy like us might agree to go along with it  (just like the holi-festival of colors)... But I think its mostly the fact that we trust Jarvie with his amazing skill! I was impressed with the way the pictures turned out, and we had a ton of fun! We made a few stops our first stop was in St. George (Jon wanted to get the pretty dark red of the mountains there) We made a very random stop at Baker right in front of some trailer homes, yes trailor homes! Lets not forget the world's tallest thermometer! We made a few other stops in the middle of nowhere, we even found a mattress just lying in the middle of the dusty unpaved road! We made our final stop in Vegas on the way back, Jon wanted to get a few shots with he fireworks in the background, but to much of our disappointment the fireworks show that was planned by the various hotels along the strip ended up being canceled! :( Below are the some of our favorites!



Vegas!




Close up!







I really like the background on this one!

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Denver Roadtrip!

So we got to go to Denver for two great  friends' wedding.  We had a total of 4 people in the little civic! yay way better than 5 people from our last road trip to California! We left late night and got there early in the morning.



It was Jon's, Jesus', and Brittany's first time going to Denver. We got to see a lot of rain... and even some snow!  I think it rained and poured the whole time we were there and yes even on the wedding day!




Brittany and I had the honor to be two of Katherine's bridesmaids! We all got a little wet, but we still had a blast and even with heels and my hair all done...


Katherine looked gorgeous! They had their reception at this beautiful Madsen museum, everything was so fancy and elegant.  We all got to meet Greg's family and that was really neat! They are all great and amazing people! :) We got to go into downtown Denver after the reception and that was a lot of fun! It was a short trip and it felt like it was super quick too, but it was all worth it in the end!

Much love and happiness for K-train and G-rex!

June 12th, 2010

The happy couple!