The entire time that we were engaged, I tried keeping the honeymoon a secret from Kim. It didn't work out. She found out where we were going. The week after we were married, we spent an amazing week on a cruise to the Mexican Riviera. People ask "How was it?" Here's how it was:
- Food
- Sun
- Mexico
- Food
- Sun
- Crazy rain
- Beach
- Food
- Parties
- Mexico
- Food
Did I mention food? I gained 10 lbs in a week! And that wasn't water weight either, it's sticking to me!
K, so let me back up and start from the beginning.
The night of the wedding, we stayed at the Hyatt in Hunting Beach. There was an amazing view of the gardens that they had there. It was awesome with little paths that you could walk through and bushes that were up to my waist. There was a huge koi pond right below us with a bridge that you could walk over it and feed the fish. We only stayed there Saturday night and then took off.
We left in the morning to the L.A. port about 30 minutes from the hotel. We met Kim's mom and our friends, Curtis and Anna, there. We gave the keys to Curtis and Anna, who took our car, got our presents and drove our car home so that we wouldn't have to park the car in the lot and pay an arm and a leg to leave it there for a week. Somehow we got on the boat amazingly fast. Everyone was waiting in line for a few hours, but we were able to get on in less than an hour. So fast and I have no idea how! I thought that there would be a lot of issues left over from the swine flu, but the only thing even close to that was hand sanitizer dispensers that they had throughout the ship, especially when you got on and off.
| Boarding the ship! |
room was awesome. It wasn't huge, but we had a balcony lined up so that we had a view of the ocean. We had it open a lot to let the air in until our neighbors started smoking. The room attendants always left our towels folded in animals. One day it was a dog and another it was a monkey hanging from the ceiling. So funny how they did some of the stuff.
After leaving L.A., our first stop was Cabo San Lucas. Two words to describe Cabo: HOT and EXPENSIVE! Not very cool for the very first stop on the cruise. We spent the day snorkeling though, for a super cheap bargain. We got a boat tour first, where we were able to see Medano, Lovers and Divorcee beaches. The thing about Cabo that I didn't know is that it's considered the southern most point of Baja Mexico, so that is what separates the Pacific Ocean from the Sea of Cortez. All that means is HUGE WAVES! My brother Paul has a video of people skimboarding in Cabo. Soon as we saw that beach, I knew that's where they filmed it. The waves broke right on the shore and they did it so hard that you felt the ground shake. Insane!
after the tour is when we went snorkeling. I thought that they were going to bring a tour guide with us, but they just gave us the equipment and left us on the beach. There were lots of other people there and the waves were still crazy, so we put on our goggles and waded out. Once we were out just a little ways, the water was crystal clear. There was a point where the land drops 500 feet in an underwater cliff. The top of the cliff was this rock that stuck out of the water by about 45 feet or so. There were tons of different types of fish. They were so used to people that you could get right up next to them. I spent my time trying to catch them, but never got one. Once we were done, we went back to the beach. The company that we got the tour from was supposed to pick us up on the beach at a certain time. They didn't show up for an hour! My back got super red burnt! Not cool! But now my back isn't a sick, pasty white! :-)
our next stop was in Mazatlan. This was the shopping capitol of the trip, I'm sure. We spent some time in a "Shell Museum" that had a lot of different sea shells. Turns out, they weren't on exhibit, but for sale. Haha! Funniest "museum" I've ever been to. We spent the rest of the time shopping, buying souvenirs. I ate some tacos at a taqueria. I was pretty scared I would get sick, so I didn't have any of the sauce or any of the horchata because both have water in them.
In Perto Vallarta, we caught the beginning of Hurricane Frank, so it was SUPER windy and SUPER rainy. We were bummed because we both wanted to go to a huge zip-line that they have there, but there was lightning dancing all around, especially in the hills. Right across from the port, though, they had a WallMart. We went in there and just looked around for a little bit. It was raining so hard that the roof was leaking. It reminded me of Argentina because it had a chapa (corrugated metal) roof and I could hardly hear anything.
The honeymoon was amazing. If anyone is thinking about going on a cruise, I would highly recommend it! The service was awesome, food was amazing every night (they didn't look at me funny when I ordered two main courses and two desserts every night) and there was always plenty of things to do. We even got to see an ice skating show on board the ship! They had movie screenings, dances and parties, comedians, dance shows and places to get food 24 hours a day! (Can you tell I love the food part??)
If you want to see all the pictures of the honeymoon, check out Kim's album...
No comments:
Post a Comment